CAFCC Group Stage Qualification: Ikpeazu Salutes Enyimba FC…to Face Orlando Pirates


Governor Okezie Ikpeazu has sent a message of congratulations to the players and management of Enyimba International Football Club of Aba on their qualification for the group stages of the 2020/21 CAF CONFEDERATIONS CUP.

Enyimba International FC (Photo credit: @EnyimbaFC)

Making this known in a statement signed by the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Onyebuchi Ememanka and obtained by News Medal Sunday after Enyimba International Football Club of Aba secured qualification by defeating Rivers United Football Club of Port Harcourt at the Adokie Amiesimaka Stadium in Port Harcourt after a penalty shoot out, the Governor expressed his delight at the victory especially with the dedication and tenacity shown by the Enyimba players.

Governor Ikpeazu urged the team to see the victory as the needed tonic to prepare even harder for the group stages of the highly competitive continental tournament, charging them to go all out and bring the CAF Confederations Cup home to Aba.

The Governor restated the commitment of his administration to continue to provide support to the club in particular and all the other clubs under the sponsorship of the State Government.

According to the Governor, sports remains a key factor which not only provides entertainment and relaxation to people, but has become a powerful tool for economic advancement.

Concluding , the Governor said “The only way the players and management of Enyimba FC can repay the huge investments of the Government and people of Abia State in the club is to work hard and ensure total victory in the group stages of the CAF Confederations Cup”.

Meanwhile, Enyimba International FC will be squaring up to Orlando Pirates of South Africa in what has been termed a fierce Group by football analysts.

In the draw which held Monday in Cairo, Egypt, Enyimba, two time Champions League winners were drawn in the same Group A as Confederations Cup 2015 finalists, Orlando Pirates of South Africa, ES Setif of Algeria and Al Ahly Benghazi of Libya.

The groups were drawn as follows:

Group A:

  • Enyimba (Nigeria)
  • Orlando Pirates (South Africa)
  • ES Setif (Algeria)
  • Al Ahly Benghazi (Libya)

Group B:

  • RS Berkane (Morocco)
  • JS Kabyile (Algeria)
  • Coton Sport (Cameroon)
  • Napsa Stars (Zambia)

Group C:

  • Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia) / Young Buffaloes (eSwatini)
  • ACF Jaraaf (Senegal)
  • SC Sfaxien (Tunisia)
  • Salitas (Burkina Faso)

Group D:

  • Raja Casablanca (Morocco)
  • Pyramids FC (Egypt)
  • Nkana (Zambia)
  • Namungo (Tanzania) / Primeiro de Agosto (Angola)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.